Malorie Blackman is our new Childrens Laureate

malorie blackmanMalorie Blackman, The author of the Noughts and Crosses series and many other teen and young adult novels is the new Guardian children’s laureate, taking over from Julia Donaldson. In her acceptance speech today Malorie listed some of the things she has lined up for her two years as laureate. Her main focus is to “get more children reading more” and she would also like to promote graphic novels and comics, as well as short stories to make reading more accessible. She’s also a big supporter of libraries and aims to ensure that all children in the UK have their own library ticket. Malorie has written over 50 childrens books, with her most famous being the Noughts and Crosses series which includes Noughts & Crosses (2001), Knife Edge (2004), Checkmate (2005) and Double Cross (2008). You can read the first chapters of Noughts and Crosses for free here. She was awarded an OBE in 2008 and her most recent novel is Boys Don’t Cry (2010). For more information about Malorie and previous Laureates check out the Guardian Childrens Laureate website.


Posted on June 4, 2013, in Authors, Awards. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. SleepyDragon1320

    Reblogged this on Sleepy Book Dragon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: