A M Homes wins Women’s prize for Fiction 2013

_67996037_may-we-be-forgivenAmerican author A M Homes won the Women’s Prize for Fiction, awarded at a star studded ceremony at London’s Royal Festival Hall last night. The prize was awarded for Homes’ novel May we be Forgiven, which is a dark satire set in American suburbia. The other novelists on this year’s shortlist were Kate Atkinson, Barbara Kingsolver, Maria Semple and Zadie Smith. Homes wins a prize of £30,000, and is the fifth American author to do so. The Women’s Prize was previously known as the Orange Prize for Fiction and will be renamed again next year when a new sponsor, Baileys cream liqueur, will support the prize for a three-year term beginning in 2014.

Posted on June 6, 2013, in Authors, Awards, Book News. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. SleepyDragon1320

    Reblogged this on Sleepy Book Dragon and commented:
    Can I just express my amusement at the constantly changing name of this award please? Sorry, but this just amuses me too much!

  2. claireatwakefieldlibraries

    Us too! We’re looking forward to toasting the next winner with a nice tipple of the sponsors finest!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: