Costa Book Award 2013

Atkinson Bishop O'Farrell Wyld

Yes, I am a few days late talking about the Costa awards as the list came out last week but I had to order a few extra copies of some of the titles that weren’t in stock! All sorted now so you can request any that catch your interest from this excellent list.
The Novel award offers an interesting choice. I discovered two favourite writers from previous award lists.Kate Atkinson’s Behind the Scenes at the Museum won the Whitbread (as it was) First novel award in 1995. Life After Life is appearing on all the book of the year lists this year. Another previous winner is Maggie O’Farrell with The Hand That First Held Mine in 2010. Can she win again with Instructions for a Heatwave?
Bernadine Bishop has been the choice of the news writers as sadly she has been nominated posthumously for Unexpected Lessons in Love. Evie Wyld (All the Birds, Singing)was one of the choices for Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists, so she’s a name to watch.

There are also awards for a First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book and there is a short story prize chosen by public vote . You can download and listen to the stories and vote on the Costa webpage.


Posted on December 4, 2013, in Authors, Awards, Book News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: