Literary Oscars

Shock-of-the-Fall-180x254Goth PikeAtkinson
It’s the time of year for awards. Never mind the Oscars, book awards are much more interesting (and the speeches are better) Just before Christmas, the wonderful Neil Gaiman’s novel ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ was voted Book of the Year in the National Book Awards sponsored by Specsavers.
Now the category winners for the Costa Book awards have been announced. The novel winner was Kate Atkinson’s ‘Life after Life’ and the first novel award went to Nathan Filer for ‘Shock of the fall’ Lucy Hughes-Hallet won the biography category with ‘The Pike’, which has already won the Samuel Johnson prize. The poetry prize went to Michael Symmons Roberts for ‘Drysalter’and the Children’s book went to Chris Riddell for ‘Goth Girl and the ghost of a mouse’ – lovely title.
Which books would you choose to give your own Book of the Year awards to?


Posted on January 8, 2014, in Awards. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: