The award nobody wants

BS Flanagan BS Murakami BS Smith BS Walsh BS Wark

What does Man Booker prize winner Richard Flanagan have in common with popular novelist Wilbur Smith? What links journalist and TV presenter Kirsty Wark with cult Japanese writer Haruki Murakami? It’s the one award nobody wants, the annual Bad Sex in Fiction Award from the Literary Review. The award aims to draw attention to “poorly written, perfunctory or redundant passages of sexual description in modern fiction, and to discourage them”. It’s a strong list this year with another Booker winner Ben Okri and Pulitzer prize-winning author Michael Cunningham also in competition. I won’t quote any of the descriptions nomin
ated for the prize but if you’d like to find out more here is a link to a Guardian article with full details and a poll for you to vote.


Posted on November 14, 2014, in Awards, Book News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: